Hook, Line and Biter

30 Aug

Confession: Twi as I may, I just can’t seem to break my vampire phase.  Maybe it is the fact that I live somewhat close to Forks, Washington and the Cullen family really could be the family next door.  Maybe it is because I see gray skies more often than blue.  Which of course, as a result, puts my skin color in the Nicole Kidman category, which is arguably close to that of a vampire.

For whatever reason, I seem to have an affinity for vampires. I am not sure what about me screams “vampire,” but I keep getting introduced to them.  First, there was Edward.   One of my nearest and dearest mommy friends brought over Twilight for me to read during last year’s summer vacation.  Mid-flight, I finished the book with over two hours of flight time to go.  She forgot to mention, that you should always travel with at least two of the books in your bag in the event you finish the first one.  Waiting to find out if Bella and Edward get back together while flying somewhere over middle America is pure torture.  Needless to say, I fell hook, line and biter.

Image Credit: Art Streiber/ The CW

Then there were the Salvatore brothers.  Last summer, after discovering my interest (to put it mildly) in the Twilight books, my cousin informed me of a show that would be premiering in the fall by the name of The Vampire Diaries.  I had my reservations, being a loyal Twilight fan and all.  Regardless of my allegiance to the Cullen crew, I have a stronger alliance with my cousin.  You know how the saying goes, “blood is thicker than water.”  Not to mention, my cousin has not led me wrong as far as entertainment is concerned, so I picked up the book.  What a  mistake.  The book was awful and made me seriously consider how the TV show could even contend with Bella and the gang.  I was totally skeptical leading up to the season premiere.  But of course I had to watch.  To my surprise, it was good.  I mean really good.  The Vampire Diaries ended up being one of my favorite shows of the season.

My daughter also made her premiere last fall.  She was born in late October, so I was totally on a vampire sleep schedule and fully addicted to the show by the time she arrived.  I would DVR the show and watch it at random hours when she woke.  Believe it or not, I actually looked forward to my late night viewings of the tall, pale and handsomes.

*Disclaimer-I would not recommend watching it alone,  in a dark room. (Unless you like  being scared.  Me, not so much.)

It goes without saying, I am dreading the gray and gloom that is lurking right around the corner, ready to swallow up summer. However, I can’t ignore the twinge of excitement every time I think of  the new season of Vampire Diaries, also, right around the corner. The premiere is next week, so you have ample time to get caught up on the first season.  It’s completely addicting.  You have been warned.


Leave a Reply

