A Stroller Rant

13 Jul

Confession: When it comes to baby strollers, I have been through most. I bought into the Bugaboo hype and started out with the top of the line Cameleon and what a bug-a-bust.  I despise the stroller.  I tried to love it.  I will say there are definitely some perks to the bug-a-wallet-buster.  The ride is amazing and I love the look.  I even ran a 5k with my first born in the Bugaboo and had zero complaints from my little love.

However, the stroller is an absolute beast to get into the trunk.  There is nothing graceful about lifting a ridiculously heavy and awkward piece of machinery.  Don’t even let me get started on the car seat adapter debacle and my major meltdown in the hospital parking garage when I couldn’t get the car seat unattached from the stroller with my arm candy strapped inside. Disaster.

I even tried to pimp my ride a little with the fun fabrics and after market accessories.  I still hate it.  You definitely need another stroller to travel with.  Sure, you can purchase a travel case for the bugaboo if you plan on checking it through to your final destination, but then you have to check it and pray you don’t get stuck somewhere between Point A and Point B.  We know how that goes.  I could go on and on, but I won’t.

I recently read that Harper Beckham will be cruising in the ICandy Peach Stroller.  To be honest, I haven’t tried the ICandy stroller.  I love the name, but it is priced like a Bugaboo, looks like a Bugaboo and well….you know the rest.

4 Responses to “A Stroller Rant”

  1. ckerekes July 13, 2011 at 11:42 am #

    This just made me laugh! I remember thinking the Bugaboo seemed cumbersome… And I worked at Bugaboo! I’m getting the UppaBaby Vista, which all my new mom friends seem to rave about and seems easy to fold/unfold. We shall see. I am liking the iCandy though! Looks cool and holds two, but apparently looking cool is clearly not enough! I’m sure Posh and new baby will be rolling in style with all the free strollers she’ll be getting!

  2. Arm Candy Confessions July 13, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

    🙂 I’ve heard great things about the UppaBaby. Keep me posted! Yeah, looking cool kills your back:) You know what they say….beauty is pain. xoxo

  3. Modern Hostess July 13, 2011 at 12:50 pm #

    I have the Uppa Baby Vista and it’s been great but I have to agree it takes up a TON of room in my trunk. It’s also really hard to collapse and heavy. Mia is 16 months now and I’m thinking about transitioning into a easier lighter weight stroller. Any suggestions? I was thinking about the MacLaren. We have the BOB jogging stroller but again, it takes up a ton of space in the car.

    • Arm Candy Confessions July 13, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

      I LOVE the MacLaren strollers!! We purchased our first one while traveling when B was really young and wore it to the ground. They are so light! We purchased another one last year and unfortunately the wheel got damaged by one of the airlines. However, they are seriously so fantastic. I have the Double Bob too, but the Maclaren is my go to stroller.

Leave a Reply

