Girlfriends Tea For The Mother-To-Be

22 Aug

Confession: I love hosting baby showers.  I love the planning, the excitement and the pampering of the expectant mother-to-be, which typically happens to be a dear friend. There always seems to be debate surrounding whether or not to shower or sprinkle a mother when she is pregnant with her second, third, fourth….child.

When I was pregnant with my second, I really did not want a shower and two of my closest friends insisted.  I, of course caved. I am so glad I did.  The afternoon was one I will never forget.

Fast forward to present.  One of my closest girlfriends is pregnant with her third child, which happens to be a girl.  She has two beautiful boys and is thrilled to be adding a little pink to the family dynamic. She of course did not want a shower or anything fancy, but every princess needs a tea party and that is exactly what we gave her! I promised her it wouldn’t be big in numbers, but it was a grand affair.  The afternoon was filled with hats, tea, games, finger-sandwiches and a whole lotta love.  It was low in stress and high in fun.  Hats were strongly encouraged and all the guests kindly obliged. It was such a fun, fancy affair and left me longing for another afternoon filled with girlfriends, tea and reasons to celebrate.   Here are a few pictures of our Sunday afternoon!

**Disclaimer.  All pictures were taken by yours truly and are unprofessional in nature.

The beautiful guest of honor.

The favors: tea bag holder, personalized tea bag and a silver spoon.

The Georgian. Fairmont Olympic Hotel, Seattle.

The girls

The Hostesses

2 Responses to “Girlfriends Tea For The Mother-To-Be”

  1. Modern Hostess August 22, 2011 at 8:38 pm #

    I love it! I’m a big fan of baby showers for 2nd, 3rd, 4th babies…..I feel every baby needs to be celebrated and every mom needs to feel special. I just hosted a baby shower for a close friend last month who is having her 3rd baby. We all pitched in and bought her double stroller instead of gifts since she just had her 2nd daughter 9 months ago! It was a casual fun girly brunch. I loved it. Your party looks perfect. Great work! 🙂

    • Arm Candy Confessions August 22, 2011 at 8:42 pm #

      Thanks Steph!! I have become a big fan of showers for each baby too. Love the stroller idea!!! Thanks for the fabulous tips, as always.

      Sent from my iPhone

Leave a Reply

